Discover newly restored Priory Row as part of city-wide 'Coventry Opens'.
Visit the cottages on Fri 6 May between 2-4.30pm for a special open house session and see how they have been transformed.
Drop ins only, no booking necessary.
3-5 Priory Row (also known as Lychgate Cottages) is a row of three timber-framed properties dating to around 1415. It is a remarkable survival of a pre-Dissolution building at the heart of Coventry’s high street area.
The building’s location and date indicate that it originally formed part of the precinct of the 12th century St Mary’s Priory, the ruins of which sit next door. Priory Row are the only upstanding buildings which survived the destruction of the priory complex (Godiva’s Cathedral) during the Dissolution of the Monasteries in 1539.
It is a very good example of a timber-framed building of the early 15th century, with close-studded timbers and jettied floor which are evocative of its status as a good quality medieval urban building. The principal timbers throughout show little evidence of re-use and demonstrate that the original structure survives well. For these reasons, the building has been upgraded to listed Grade II, for its architectural and historical interest.
Having been underused for many years, in 2020 Historic Coventry Trust completed a 250-year lease from Coventry City Council to take over the building. Thanks to funding from Architectural Heritage Fund, Coventry City Council and Coventry & Warwickshire LEP, the cottages have been restored by Historic Coventry Trust and converted into bespoke visitor accommodation. Find out more and book a stay here.
Priory Row is surrounded by city centre parking, including: West Orchards Car Park, Bishop Street Car Park, Belgrade Plaza and Cox Street Car Park.
Alternatively, the site can be easily reached by nearby public transport links:
By bus via stops at Pool Meadow Bus Station or other city centre routes.
By train via Coventry Train Station.